Saturday, March 19, 2011

Early to bed, early to rise.


OK, so day number one of the Evensen’s Healthy Overhaul was…semi-successful. Let me start by admitting that even though just the other day, I pointed out how exhausting it was to get drunk with Jason and stay up late, it was St. Paddy’s Day! What else were we supposed to do but stuff our faces with meat and potatoes, cake, drink LOTS of beer, and talk about remodeling opportunities until 3am? It was inevitable! But after a very slow morning, I’m proud to say that the first thing I did was chug a bunch of water, a BUNCH of water. I’m sure that on a better day it would do my body pretty good as opposed to just bringing it up out of a pretty substantial hangover, but baby steps right? Yeah. Baby steps.

Progress came to a pretty steep halt when we decided to have leftover strawberry-cream-cheese cake for breakfast, but I did omit the homemade-green-whipped cream, so it has to count for something right? And I spent forever on Wednesday making this super efficient “meals list”, that has much healthier options for breakfast (yogurt, granola, fruits, all that jazz), but this blunder is getting chalked up to good ol’ St. Patrick’s Day again! Had a good lunch, drank lots of water throughout the day which feels AMAZING, and I did get quite a good workout in, so day one was pretty good. And of course, gave me yet another idea that I’m convinced will help us along the way…

What does it take to be a morning person? Someone who doesn’t push the snooze button has time to shower and brush their teeth before they scramble out of the house, and even has time to eat a well rounded breakfast? I have absolutely no friggen clue, that’s why I asked! I’m a HORRIBLE morning person! But I do know that there is some serious truth in that whole “early bird gets the worm” thing. Moving into this house has made us realize the importance of the sun in our day. There are so many things out here that you just plain can’t do unless the sun is out. The kids go to school when the sun is out, shops are open, it’s warmer, Jason works, it’s not creepy dark where you have to run past the living room window on the kids floor cause it doesn’t have a curtain and who knows what spine-chilling horror movie ghoul is lingering out there…So in only one day of a health kick I’ve realized that unless I put my foot down and get up earlier in the morning, like a damn adult, so I can wash my face, change my clothes, and possibly get a cup of coffee down before the kids even wake up to ensure I’m in a pleasant mood, I’m not gonna get very far. So, here’s the advice I’m trying to give myself in order to smooth this thing out a little:

EARN MY REST. On the days that I do get up at a decent hour, make all the food, clean the house, do the homework, the laundry, the workout, you bet your ass I’m ready to take a shower and pass out immediately after we put the boys down (at 8pm). Boring yes, but it was my choice to have so many stinkin’ children, and this is me making my “wife and mother of three” life run like clockwork. So, I guess after day one I’ve done what I usually do; add yet another thing to the list! But I swear if I get up earlier with a previous day full of workouts and suitable water consumption behind me, I’ll be able to…take over the world? It’s possible =)

Thursday, March 17, 2011

No More Excuses


So I started this whole blog thing originally because I’m a theories kind of person. I have theories about everything. Theories about raising kids, marriage, organization, money, sex, (lets go here for a minute…I have this Carrie Bradshaw dream of writing about sex, getting a book deal, and going on lavish vacations with my best friends, but I’m not quite sure I’m ready yet. Don’t get me wrong, the world would be a better place if more men could hear the bawdy things my girlfriends and I talk about, but my Grandparents have internet access, just sayin) and plenty of other things that for some reason I’m so passionate about. This combined with my love of writing brings us to this blog. So while I really enjoyed the “day in the life of me” direction the blog was taking (in the whopping 4 posts I made) I want to start it back up on a different foot…a ranting foot of course!

I read an article not too long ago that said there are only four things that you ultimately have control of when it comes to your health: the choice not to smoke, a dedication to exercise, eating a good diet, and having an optimistic attitude. Well shit. I smoke, I don’t exercise, I have an ice cream addiction and can sometimes be a bit of a realist. Not a pessimist, a realist (that’s what we all say). So I’ve been having a mental argument with myself about all kinds of things since reading this. What’s driving me nuts is how difficult I make it to do such simple things! It’s like pulling teeth! It’s like getting the boys to not pee all over the entire toilet! And the wall! WHY? I get all wrapped up in the chaos of being a stay at home mom, and don’t even realize until 2pm that I’ve been up since 6:30, done drop offs, gone to school, ran errands, done two loads of laundry, cleaned a bowl of milk and cereal off the ground, broke up a couple fights and I haven’t even eaten anything! Or drank a glass of water! What the hell am I doing to myself? I NEED the energy. More than anyone I know. This whole full time student/full time Mom/wife/artist/musician thing is no joke. Lets not get confused or anything, I love every second of it, but I need me some more energy or I’m gonna fall apart. A LOT more, and I’m officially prepared to put and end to the insanity.

So here’s the latest step towards Superhero status, GROW THE FUCK UP NIKKI!! I am fully aware of the fact that I have the opportunity as a mother and the woman of this house, to control how it works. And in most other ways I make it run like friggen clockwork. So I’m gonna woman up, put on my big girl panties and stop messing around. I can’t complain that I’m exausted if I get drunk with Jason and stay up too late on a school night, or that my body aches if I’m not stretching and exercising. I WILL drink more water, I WILL *gulp* quit smoking, I WILL get better sleep, I WILL exercise, I WILL eat better, and so will my children. And as a result I’m convinced that we will all be much happier people, which will take care of the “being more optimistic” thing. So at the moment, the only goal in the Evensen house is to put health and wellness first, without all the lame “I don’t have time, I’m too tired” bullshit excuses. Here’s to hoping the kids don’t catch me sneaking vegetables into their pizza sauce =)






Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Operation Unplug


 My latest and greatest plan to become a Superhero (more like a necessity than a plan) took form in an experiment to not get on Facebook last week (which has become a sick addiction for me as a stay at home mom, it sadly being my only source of human interaction that doesn’t involve hot dogs, tying shoelaces, and searching all three different locations where a clean pair of underwear could be for that ONE superman pair. No not THOSE ones, the RED ONES…) and also ditching the television completely. I say completely because I’ve already dwindled it down over the years, but was curious to see what it would be like with zero, zip, nada for 7 days. Let me tell you, it was fantastic. Holy CRAP there is so many hours in one day! For fucks sake there’s life to be living, instead of staring into a man made rectangle. Whether it’s laptop size or ridiculously large (thanks for the free TV Kathy). Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been back on Facebook but for a fraction of the time, and while I tried to watch a movie on day 8, I didn’t make it all the way through, and haven’t tried again since.

Within the first 48 hours:

-         I cheated and checked Facebook. Didn’t respond to anything, felt guilty immediately, closed the entire laptop, and walked away shamefully. 
-         My music came back. I mean really came back, the way it’s supposed to be there. Strumming along in the back of my head all day long making me move around differently than everyone else in the room. I’ve been playing my keyboard since we moved into Maude, but I was reacquainted with my guitar, such an old and beautiful friend. Beat that Facebook.
-         I discovered that I’m uncomfortable in silence. I never noticed it before. I think it’s because it makes the chaos that’s going on in my crazy, list making, over multi-tasking brain entirely too loud. So I’ve added, “being comfortable in silence” to my list of “Things to do in order to become a Superhero”.
-         I danced. I’ve been working out by dancing for a while now, but this time it was different. This time I was BORED OUT OF MY MIND and wound up jumping around like I was in an 80’s music video. So I know it sounds silly, and romantic, but it was freeing. The kids thought it was hilarious, joined in, and we had this wonderful, childlike, corny, tear jerking moment together. Now I’m pretty sure I unknowingly do it while I’m making lunch, and have walked in on Jamis doing a damn good booty dance by himself if his bedroom.
-         I chopped wood for hours. I had this insane rush of physical energy I’ve never felt before. I was all Hulk-ish, swinging away (with damn good aim I must say), splitting logs left and right. Then bringing them inside and using them as free heat for the house…there was something very Scarlet O’Hara about it. I’ve done it multiple times since then, and I think it just keeps getting better and better (not to mention making me smaller and smaller, SCORE)

I have to say it was a great success. I feel so much more connected to my surroundings, so much more in tune with MY feelings, MY wants, MY passions. Not those of a character in a movie, or a friend on the Internet. I’m still getting used to it all, and of course I’m still being me and making it difficult, but I cant deny and I wont ignore the change that happened so far, and I can’t friggen wait to see what crazy scheme for Superhero status I come up with next.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

It's the little things that matter....right?

I hate it when my overactive brain ruins such a great weekend. As strong as I like to think I am, I loose so much momentum when Jason has to go back to work (or school) and I'm stuck with the chaos of the boys by myself. If you don't know what it's like to rein in three boys under the age of 7 by yourself...enjoy your hair, cause I'm loosing mine by the second =) It hasn't been all bad these past couple of days, considering my mom insisted on Jason returning to Lowes and getting something much more fun that weather proofing supplies for his birthday, her treat. I assumed he'd peruse the power tools, maybe a new hammer or something (he's easily satisfied with tools, and I'm not gonna lie, so am I) but he came home with something MUCH better than a hammer:

My new favorite picture of all my J's
We've both wanted one of these for years, and finally have a porch to put it on! On Tuesday night we celebrated it by having one (or three) of our new favorite drinks while swinging away together. It was amazing, and COOOOLD. I'm absolutely loving getting all bundled up with my cute black jackets and scarves, and having to sit just a little closer to The Man for warmth. Soon there will be a fabulous fire lit inside, just waiting for that "HOLY SHIT IT'S REALLY COLD" morning to come around! Soon though, I'll take pics.

OH! And he also brought me home some bulbs to plant, so that by spring time, I'll have some of these in my front yard:

Queen of Night Tulips...how fitting =)


But damn I'm just in a bad mood. I'm tired of the never ending mountains of laundry, the never ending sink FULL of dishes, the never ending cooking, (OK, I like to cook, I really do, and I would have to admit that we make some damn good food around here, but no matter how much I feed the boys, they are constantly bothering me for food. I feel like that's all I do anymore). Not to mention that Jamis is in his terrible two's and went from having cute silent fits that I wanted to catch on video, to screaming like a pterodactyl 800 times a day. UGH. Some days I have this amazing "I'm Superwoman" drive and I zoom around the house, my cape flapping in the wind, and I have everything spotless, dinner on the table, a flower in my hair and a big smile on my face for Jason when he gets home from work. I'm just not sure how to have that kind of energy EVERY DAY. Any ideas?

At the end of the day though, I'm not cranky enough not to appreciate how precious the boys are WHEN THEY'RE ASLEEP lol, or how long it takes me to turn off all the lights and shut down our amazing big ass house, or passing myself in the mirror almost 80 pounds lighter than last year, or curling up inside the arms of such a remarkable man...so wait...what the hell am I complaining about again?

Monday, October 11, 2010

Fantastic Weekend

I was all hyped up in excitement from finally creating this blog last week (since my master plan is to become super famous and offered a book deal...nothing special), and luckily it overflowed charmingly into my weekend.

By the time Jason got home from work Friday night, after a 10 day stretch, we were so ready to wrap around eachother and stay there comfortably making out and watching movies until Monday afternoon...then we remembered we have children =) But just knowing he wasn't going anywhere for 48 hours was enough for me to be in a glorious mood, and have a mellow, and equally glorious evening.

Saturday afternoon we're driving down Mt. Vernon on our way to Lowes (where sadly, Jason spent his birthday giftcard on weather proofing supplies; what a man) and we see a fantastic clock on someone's lawn, set out first-come-first-serve style, and we're squealing tires, thrown in reverse, and picking it up before you can say "That's a fine looking clock you got there". Even though the previous clock owner ran out to inform us that he couldn't get it to work, we were confident enough in our referbishing skills to be super stoked about our latest find. Especially when we bring it inside, and Jason has it fixed in 2 minutes flat. Not with his fabulous referbishing skills, but with his astounding ability to know an upsidown battery when he sees one =) So here's my brand new clock, helping cover up at least some of the baby-food-green wall in my living room.

I could NOT get this picture to upload in the right direction, and I really don't want to talk about it

Once the excitement from the new clock wore down and the kids were upstairs watching a new DVD, our motivation to shove foam into all the nooks and crannies of the gazzillion windows Maude has (our house...she was built in the 60's, and we're really strange and name innatamate objects) slowly turned into motivation to get drunk off loaded Coronas. If you haven't had one before, go to your local liquor store, get a $30 bottle of Campo Azul tequila on sale for 14 bucks, throw in a 12 pack of Corona, some limes, and put one shot in each beer. MMMmmm MMMmmm. Then prepare for a superb buzz way beyond that of the usual sale priced 18 packs of PBR. Lots of fun was had off a record breaking six beers total. Thanks a lot for the recipe Ray =)




So how could my weekend get any better? Being stopped dead in my tracks on the way down the first story stairs by a pair of strong sexy arms, and hearing, "Damn you are a beautiful work of art" whispered seductively into my ear. *sigh* That made the mountain of Sunday laundry much easier to conquer. 

Friday, October 8, 2010

First Post!

First on the agenda, a warning to all who:
  • Let their kids run their house
  • Stereotype people with tattoos
  • Spend more money than they make
  • Think that sex is taboo
  • or don't absolutely LOVE music from Elvis Presley,
YOU WILL BE OFFENDED. All others please tune in for a rollercoaster of advice, rambles, rants and outbursts from a hard ass, tattooed, frugal, sexy, Elvis fanatic. Here goes nothin!